Seminars-2021-Fall

WFU Physics Colloquium Schedule — Fall 2021

Previous and future colloquia

All colloquia will be held at 4 PM in Olin 101 (unless noted otherwise). Refreshments will be served at 3:30 PM in Olin Lobby prior to each seminar. For additional information contact wfuphys@wfu.edu.

Thurs. Sept. 2, 2021Welcome and Summer research presentations

Thurs. Sept. 9, 2021Memorial Colloquium in honor of Richard T. Williams (host: B. Ucer)

Thurs. Sept. 16, 2021Physics Research Opportunities at WFU — Part I Experimental Projects (host: N. Holzwarth)

Thurs. Sept. 23, 2021Physics Research Opportunities at WFU — Part II Theoretical and Computational Projects (host: N. Holzwarth)

Thurs. Sept. 30, 2021Physics Research Opportunities at WFU — Part III and Discussion of Colloquium Program (host: N. Holzwarth)

Thurs. Oct. 7, 2021 — Fall break

Thurs. Oct. 14, 2021 — Professor Guglielmo Lanzani, Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy — “Polymer Nanoparticles Rescue Vision in Blind Retinas” (host: A. R. S. Kandada)

Thurs. Oct. 21, 2021 — Yan Li, WFU graduate student — Ph. D. Defense: “First Principles Investigations of Electrolyte Materials in All-Solid-State Batteries” — 9AM-10AM (note special time) — mentor: Professor Natalie Holzwarth

Thurs. Oct. 21, 2021 — Professor Jarrett Lancaster, High Point University, NC — “Simulating Quantum Dynamics with Quantum Computers” (host: D. Kim-Shapiro)

Thurs. Oct. 28, 2021 — Professor Charles Agosta, Clark University, Worcester, MA — “Inhomogeneous Superconductivity, Pulsed Magnetic Fields, and an Abundance of Data” (host: S. Winter)

Thurs. Nov. 4, 2021 — Yan Li, WFU — “First Principles Investigations of Electrolyte Materials in All-Solid-ate Batteries” (host: N. Holzwarth)

Thurs. Nov. 11, 2021 — Professor Valy Vardeny, University of Utah — “Spin Response of Hybrid Organic-Inorganic Halide Perovskites” (host: O. Jurchescu)

Tues. Nov 16, 2021 — Colin Tyznik, WFU graduate student — Ph. D. Defense: “Metal Halide Perovskite: Innovations in Applications and Processing” — 2:30PM-3:30 PM (note special time) — mentor: Professor Oana Jurchescu

Thurs. Nov. 18, 2021 — Professor Rodrigo B. Capaz, Institute of Physics, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil “Breaking Ultrathin Ionic Wires in LNNano” (host: S. Ullah)

Thurs. Nov. 25, 2021 — Thanksgiving Holiday —

Thurs. Dec. 2, 2021 — Professor Murray Daw, Clemson University “Collapse of the Collapse: Physicists Return to Reality” (host: T. Thonhauser)


Tentative schedule — please check announcements and abstracts of seminars.