Seminars-2020-Fall

WFU Physics Colloquium Schedule — Fall 2020

Previous and future colloquia

All colloquia will be held at 4 PM online (unless noted otherwise). For additional information contact wfuphys@wfu.edu.

Thurs. Sept. 3, 2020Welcome and Summer Research Presentations

Thurs. Sept. 10, 2020 — Dr. Wanyi Nie, Los Alamos National Laboratory and WFU alum –“Metal Halide Hybrid Perovskite Semiconductors for Opto-Electronic Device” (host: Lindsey Gray)

Thurs. Sept. 17, 2020 — Professor John Finke, University of Washington, Tacoma  — “Drug Delivery Through the Blood-Brain Barrier, Antibody Biosensors, and Protein-Knots: Biophysics Research at an Urban-Serving Campus During the Pandemic” (host: Professor Cho)

Thurs. Sept. 24, 2020Discussion on Improving the Physics Colloquium

Thurs. Oct. 1, 2020 — Dr. Claire Allison McLellan, Stanford University and WFU alum  — “Designer defects: engineering color centers in crystals as nanoscale optical sensors” (host: Professor Jurchescu)

Thurs. Oct. 8, 2020 — Taylor Ordines, WFU graduate student working with Professor Eric Carlson — “Radiation-Dominated Quantum Fields in the Preinflationary Era of the Universe” (host: Professor Carlson)

Thurs. Oct. 15, 2020 — Gabriel Marcus, WFU graduate student working with Professor David Carroll — “Transition Metal Dichalcogenides: An Overview of Their Synthesis, Properties and Future Applications” (host: Professor Carroll)

Thurs. Oct. 22, 2020 — Ali Daraei, WFU graduate student working with Professor Martin Guthold — “Intrinsically Unfolded Alpha-C Connector of Fibrinogen is a Major Contributor to the Mechanical Strength of Fibrin Fibers” (host: Professor Guthold)

Thurs. Oct. 29, 2020 — Joint presentation by newest faculty — Professors Ilaria Bargigia, Ajay Ram Srimath Kandala, and Steve Winter

Thurs. Nov. 5, 2020 — Professor Nicola Gasparini, Imperial College London, England — “Status and Perspective of Organic Photovoltaic: Is it Ready for Commercialisation?” (host: Professor Jurchescu)

Thurs. Nov. 12, 2020 — Professor Britt Lundgren, UNC-Asheville (host: Trevor Jenkins)

Thurs. Nov. 19, 2020 — Professor Martha-Elizabeth Baylor, Associate Professor-Chair, Dept of Physics and Astronomy, Carleton College, Northfield, MN (host: D. Kim-Shapiro)

Thurs. Nov. 26, 2020 — Thanksgiving Holiday —

Thurs. Dec. 3, 2020 — — Professor Quinton Rice, UNC-Pembroke (host: Professor Dostal)


Tentative schedule — please check announcements and abstracts of seminars.